stoneriff

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
I've been using ESV salt for three years. Bought a bunch last year on sale. Getting ready to buy more. Prices have shot up. Any suggestions for alternatives out there? ESV is great, but getting to expensive. Please give me good suggestions for a more affordable alternative.
Thanks.

offdahooklikeoj

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
287   0   0
What kind of tank do you have? SPS, mixed reef, softies? I was using red sea coral pro, switched to regular red sea due to the lower alk than in the pro version. I never had a problem with either salt.

bkstang

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
158   0   0
There are a lot of discussions about what salt people use so I'm sure you will find it helpful. I personally use Instant Ocean, one of the cheapest on the market with great result and with some dosing you will be fine too. Many well known retailers use this salt as well.

marrone

The All Powerful OZ
Staff member
Rating - 98.8%
80   1   0
There is a thread on this but when you're doing price comparison you need to also look at what each salt mixes the SG too. ESV mixes to 1.025 which IO 200gal box mixes to a lower SG, so if you're running your tank at a higher SG you will need to use more IO salt to get there. The same too if you need to add ALk or Cal to the salt mix to bring it up. So you need to take those things into account on the total price.

MIKE NY

Two Decade Club
Rating - 100%
204   0   0
Between Paul and myself we have over 75 years of reef keeping so that being said I have tried many different brands of salts and keep coming back to IO or RC. It's cheap and can be found everywhere. I prefer RC for the higher concentration of mag and cal. Even using more to achieve the higher SG it's still more cost effective. BTW you can find RC locally cheaper than $50 for 200 gal and don't have to wait for the shipping....:smile:

edd

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
96   0   0