Manhattan Reefs
 

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Photo Gallery Chat Reef Database Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR


Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2010, 05:16 PM
#1
richardhmc
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,768
Reefer Ratings: (13 (100%)
Friends: (28)
richardhmc is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Donor
Question Any natural ways to lower phosphate?

I have a 50 gallon reef tank. My phosphates are consistently at least .25 ppm and yesterday it was at .50 ppm. I have a lot of cyano algae which I know is from phosphates.

I do 5 gallon water changes every weekend. Is there any way to lower the phosphates naturally without a reactor, or chemical phosphate removers? Is it true that seagrass removes phosphates?

Do phosphates stunt coral growth? I know reefers strive to keep their phosphates as close to 0 as possible.

Thanks
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:27 PM
#2
adamt
Senior Member
adamt's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: westchester ny
Posts: 365
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (8)
adamt is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
if you are using tap water for your water changes, your prolly putting in as much as you're taking out.

tips for lowering po4:

use ro/di water for changes (small frequent water changes are way better than intermittent large changes)

rinse frozen food in a brine shrimp net before feeding

add a refugium (phosphates are plant food) chaeto is a good choice for macro algae

add scavengers like hermit crabs and nassarius snails to the system (theyll eat any excess food that falls to the bottom)

avoid flake food, and make sure your not overfeeding

vodka dosing will cause micro bacteria to flourish and out compete nuisance algaes
(brightwells bio reef fuel is a simplier substitute and should be used in combination with mb7)

Ive heard that kalkwasser will percipitate out as calcium phosphate and is removed by skimming, but im not 100% on that

If you really dont want to use a product like phoszorb than these tips are the best hope for lowering your po4.... gl!!!
__________________
Your signature:
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:34 PM
#3
richardhmc
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,768
Reefer Ratings: (13 (100%)
Friends: (28)
richardhmc is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Donor
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamt View Post
if you are using tap water for your water changes, your prolly putting in as much as you're taking out.

tips for lowering po4:

use ro/di water for changes (small frequent water changes are way better than intermittent large changes)

rinse frozen food in a brine shrimp net before feeding

add a refugium (phosphates are plant food) chaeto is a good choice for macro algae

add scavengers like hermit crabs and nassarius snails to the system (theyll eat any excess food that falls to the bottom)

avoid flake food, and make sure your not overfeeding

vodka dosing will cause micro bacteria to flourish and out compete nuisance algaes
(brightwells bio reef fuel is a simplier substitute and should be used in combination with mb7)

Ive heard that kalkwasser will percipitate out as calcium phosphate and is removed by skimming, but im not 100% on that

If you really dont want to use a product like phoszorb than these tips are the best hope for lowering your po4.... gl!!!

I do have a refugium stocked with seagrass and chaeto.
I think I may feed a little too much sometimes.
I also heard that kalkwasser does dissolve phosphates. I'll look that up
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:44 PM
#4
JARRETT SHARK
Addicted to coral
JARRETT SHARK's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FREEPORT,LONG ISLAND
Posts: 4,506
Reefer Ratings: (36 (100%)
Friends: (121)
JARRETT SHARK is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Donor
without a phosband reactor its hard, you can try putting phosband in a bag if you dont want a reactor but i think media has to tuble in order to wrok right
Yes it will stunt coral growth even kill if that high of .50
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 07:14 PM
#5
richardhmc
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,768
Reefer Ratings: (13 (100%)
Friends: (28)
richardhmc is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Donor
oh snap. no wonder my corals are having a hard time growing.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 08:38 PM
#6
fallenlordz
Cant hear you under Water
fallenlordz's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fresh Meadows, NY
Posts: 389
Reefer Ratings: (13 (100%)
Friends: (2)
fallenlordz is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
I use phosban reactor, sump with chaeto growing, and feed once a day. With great results.

I would try limiting your feeding.
__________________
My Tanks
72, 13 Gallon - Fresh Water

55 Gallon - Salt Water
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 08:48 PM
#7
adamt
Senior Member
adamt's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: westchester ny
Posts: 365
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (8)
adamt is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhmc View Post
I do have a refugium stocked with seagrass and chaeto.
I think I may feed a little too much sometimes.
I also heard that kalkwasser does dissolve phosphates. I'll look that up

kalkwasser doesnt disolve po4, as i understand it the excess calcium bonds with phosphates to form, you guessed it, calcium phosphate which is then removed by your protein skimmer.

seriously try rinsing your food in a brine shrimp net before you put it in the tank. it really helps.

do you use tap or ro water? if you do use tap water, stop. trying doing small frequent water changes with ro, i do 5 gal every other day on my 65g.

if you dont want to use a reactor, maybe consider using a pura pad. They can be folded or cut to fit just about anywhere (i have mine folded up in the return chamber of my remora skimmer) and they remove po4, silicates, metals etc. change it out once a month.
__________________
Your signature:
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 09:00 PM
#8
tynman
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 677
Reefer Ratings: (3 (100%)
Friends: (11)
tynman is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
water changes with get rid of your phos. but you need to do 5 gal a day or every second day. and chemi pure comes in a bag already and can be put in the sump but get the one with the phos remover i think its the elite. you should do about a 10 gal water change every weekend instead of 5 gal. they say 10 to 20% so 5 gal is the min 10%. good luck.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:18 PM
#9
richardhmc
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,768
Reefer Ratings: (13 (100%)
Friends: (28)
richardhmc is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Donor
I think I figured out why I got a sudden spike in phosphates.
Recently about a week ago I was recommended cyclops. I bought this in ice cube form and the first time I planned to feed it, I tried to wash them in a brine shrimp net. However, it was too small, so it just went right through the net.

Ive been feeding them the cyclops for the past week and I realized that none of my fish can eat it, only few of the corals are able to grab it, and the rest just floats around the tank.

I do use homemade RODI water.

I'll look up on the pura pad thanks
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:22 PM
jadakiss
Member
jadakiss's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bronx
Posts: 2,323
Reefer Ratings: (51 (100%)
Friends: (36)
jadakiss is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
quick ? i have a sump can i put cheato in there? does it need light?.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes