• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Jarrett

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
60   0   0
So i am new to dosing anything in my tank. i have to dose calcium and alkalinity and i think i have a slight hold of what i am doing here just want to be confirmed that i am correct. my calcium has been low since i started my 75 gallon reef tank. it was at 200 and then i switched to instant ocean reef crystals which jumped it up to 310. i just did a water change yesterday and my caclium is up to 360 now. i am going to buy a 2 part additive today and a Alk test (already have calcium). heres my question. i am going to dose the 2 part a specific dose every day untill i get my paramerters where they are suppose to be correct? after doing this i planned on dripping kalk through my ato to keep those levels constant. is this the correct way to be using my kalkawasser. and the correct way of going about all this. just need some guidance so i know i am doing everything right thanks guys.

James983

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
59   0   0
You may have to add a different amount of the Calcium and alk. until you get the numbers where you want them. But once you get your levels you may or may not be able to get by with Kalk only. That will depend on how much is used by the corals each day. You will need to monitor for a while to see if it will suffice.

Rating - 97.4%
74   2   0
You are on the right track. Think of Ca. and Alk. as being on opposite sides of a seesaw. As one goes up the other comes down. The goal is to get them to balance in the proper range. Once they are balanced, they can move up or down together depending on the uptake/supplementation levels in your system.

Jarrett

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
60   0   0