SantaMonica

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With more people wanting to use natural filtration for their tanks, we are going to look at the two main types of units that you can put on your system: Chaeto reactors (or "algae reactors") and algae turf scrubbers (ATS). We won?t be looking at refugiums however, since those have mostly a different purpose. This will be a multi-part post; the next post will start with the basics, so if you?d like anything in particular to be covered, let me know.

vio

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 98.9%
271   3   0
I have some experience in Algae Scrubber and Chaeto (refuge tank) i will explain my experience in both. In my opinion Chaeto Reactor is OUT of discussion , i refuse to believe one reactor ( Chaeto) will do same or more efficient then Refuge Tank, the dif is ......SPACE.
# 1 Algae Scrubber , need more maintenance then Chaeto , good water pump, depend how big, is a way more aggressive on removing the PO4 or Nitrate compare to Chaeto.
# 2 Chaeto need GOOD water flow also, lot of space .

I still have 90 Gal. refuge ( Full of Chaeto)

I think ....BEST have both....A.S. and Chaeto ( refuge tank) clean (prune) one at the time.

Attachments

• IMG_1974.JPG
    IMG_1974.JPG
    93.6 KB · Views: 1,051
  • IMG_2159.jpg
    IMG_2159.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 967
  • IMG_2168.jpg
    IMG_2168.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 949
  • IMG_2076 (2040x1530) (1024x768).jpg
    IMG_2076 (2040x1530) (1024x768).jpg
    398.3 KB · Views: 1,070

lnevo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
106   0   0
Vio typically a refugium has less flow. As you said with chaeto flow is key. In a chaeto reactor you can be much more aggressive. SantaMonica, maybe it would be good to include macro growth in a tradition sump environment as well just to cover all bases.

SantaMonica

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0