• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
im new to the saltwater fish game i wanted to know whats a good set up for a begginer and maybe a list of things i would need and if anyone is selling a set up already i might wanna purchase it.......thanks!

ryangrieder

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
34   0   0
hey welcome to mr. personally id start simple.pick up a bio cube or nano cube or something with a good filtration set up pre built with your tank. maybe the 29g bio cube would be a good idea. that was my first set set up and it was so easy and i still have it today. good luck

ryangrieder

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
34   0   0
well do the 55g, hopefully you dont have a budget tho because if your new to salt you might as well not cheap out on your sump or skimmer and get a good one so you dont have to mess with it alot and learn from it. its also going to depend on what you want to do. fish only? reef? preditor? what kind of set up you thinking about doing? what ever you decide is going to change what you need in a few ways.

Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
Hello s.kemp, welcome to the MR family!

The first item you should get is a good RO/DI unit. Do not fill your tank with tap water.

Good idea to start with what you already have.;) Will you be drilling the tank, or using an overflow hang on box? Or will you be using hang on filters to help with the filtration of your tank?

Has stated before it would be easier to give you ideas if you were to tell us in what direction you'd like to take your tank.;)
FO - fish only
FOWLR - fish only with live rock
Leathers & softies
LPS - long polyp stony
SPS - short polyp stony
Or a mixed reef.:)
What type of fish are you interested in keeping? Aggressive, non-aggressive, reef safe fish. So on and so on, and the list goes on.;)
We all for the most part recommend a Quality Protein Skimmer.