jawwad2004

Rating - 100%
37   0   0
I just did a 15% water change with RO/DI water on Monday. I have been fighting Diatoms for about 2 months now, and I really dont see a difference with the diatoms. THey are still there. I mean the RO water does make the water look better. However, would anyone know how long it would take for the diatoms disappear with water changes of roughly 15%weekly?

Barnacle_Blenny

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
21   0   0
do a 99% water change and you have no diatoms right away but you'll also have no livestock...hehe

Seriously though IMO get yourself a phosphate reactor and use rowaphos... Plus run a refugium with some macro algae

jawwad2004

Rating - 100%
37   0   0
Barnacle_Blenny said:
do a 99% water change and you have no diatoms right away but you'll also have no livestock...hehe

Seriously though IMO get yourself a phosphate reactor and use rowaphos... Plus run a refugium with some macro algae
I am using refugium, the diatoms actually grow on the cheato, which is kinda weird. I think most of my problems are linked to silicates and not phosphates, so would I really need a phosphate reactor?

jawwad2004

Rating - 100%
37   0   0
Tonyscoots84 said:
how long do u have your lights on during the day and what type of lighting. and how is your flow in the tank... and how big is the tank.
I am using 2 250 watt metal halide (bulbs are about 7 months old @ an average of 7.5 hours a day). Supplemented with 2 110 watt super actinic VHO (Installed brand new bulbs last friday @ about 9 hours usage daily).
My tank has about 25x turnover rate. Using an Aquac EV 120 protein skimmer and the tank size is 90 gallon plus 20 gallon sump/fuge

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0