Stackbundles

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Newbie here! A few days ago I purchased a branching Frogspawn coral. At the LFS all three branches were blooming. Since I brought it home only one of the three braches is blooming. The other two are completly closed. Any advice would help.

Stack

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
It could be anything..flow, water quality, lighting.
Can you post your parameters, a little about your tank (age, gallons, lighting, Sg, temp), and a pic would be very helpful.

Stackbundles

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
My tank is 8 months old. It's 75 gallons. Just got into the reef aspect of this hobby. I bought the lighting used. It's a current compact fluorecent light fixture. 130 watts. I know I need to purchase a new lighting system. Any advice on that would help too. I try to keep the corals high on the rock to be closer to the light. My hammer and torch corals are doing great. Water quailty is: salinity 1.024, PH 8.4, ammonia 0, nitrite, 0, nitrate 80, calcium 460, alkalinity 12, phosphate 2

Stack

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
You might want to knock that Nitrate number down :) Do you do water changes often and what percentage do you change?
Keep in mind, you hammer & torch may have lived through the slow rising of the nitrate number, but a new coral may not be as forgiving as they are.

Is the new coral placed in the same type area as the hammer & torch flow wise? (hope that makes sense)
I will assume you know not to place these 3 type corals near each other so they don't reach out & sting each other :)

As for the lighting..a 6 bulb T 5 fixture would be a solid addition to a 75g and enable you to grow whatever type coral you want.

Stackbundles

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
3   0   0