FrostyNYC

Nano Tank N00b
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
I'm considering adding an acan or blastos or both and I wanted to hear from people who have had them. Beyond just ease of care, I'm interested to hear whether you enjoyed keeping them and recommend them. I don't see them in peoples tanks too often and I'm wondering why.

Blastos in particular seem really rare.

chuck116

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
We currently have both in our tank , we enjoy them both. just my opinion but i think acans are a little more forgiving with parameters and placement, etc. Please remember this is jus my opinion and Im not very experienced in the hobby, only 6 years , 4 with corals.

Regards, Chuck P

Killerdrgn

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
Blastos aren't really that rare, Acan's aren't really either. They just go through boom and bust cycles, and what's hot now are scoly's and chalices.

I like Acan's and Blasto's because as you said they're pretty darn easy to take care of, and they come in some pretty cool colors. Some grow decently fast too.

thesauce

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
47   0   0
Just don't be afraid to play with their placement in your tank. Once you find the sweet spot acans grow pretty quickly, blastos are slower to reproduce in my experience.

nyfynest22

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
have both, love them. i have a huge 80+ blasto thats awesome. i also have a 8 head blasto as well if your intrested. also you can find some crazy looking acans i mean CRAZY acans at tropical island in deer park. pm me if you need any help

Alex

Pretzel in Orange M&M
Rating - 100%
44   0   0
here's one of my acans finishing up a meal of the new Fauna Marin LPS food

Attachments

• DSC_3349.jpg
    DSC_3349.jpg
    68.5 KB · Views: 181

E.intheC

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
150   0   0
I have a few acans.. They are really neat corals. In my experience, they have preferred lower light than, say SPS corals but they do grow pretty quickly.