Lark

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a bit new to all this, so I apologize in advance for a few novice questions. (I've looked in my Shimek, Fenner, and Paletta books and have not really seen the answers, so that's where you all come in.)

The main question is, how do you calculate likely needed flow rate on your return pump? In other words, are there general formulas or something for figuring out your expected overflow rate? (It looks like I'll be purchasing a tank with a built in overflow box and a 1.5 inch bulkhead fitting.) And then as a secondary question, is the goal to try to match the return rate exactly to the overflow rate and run the pump at full throtle, or do most people buy a little "more" pump than they expect to need and throtle it down? (Might that not add heat?)

Sorry, but a few more questions: Do you adjust your needed-return-flow calculations based at all on the flow rate of an in-sump pump? For example, if I run an in sump skimmer with a mag 7 does that in any way affect what I need as far as a return pump? (Can't see that it would, but I'm not among the engineering inclined.) Finally, for those of you with built in overflows in your tanks, do you put anything in there to keep the noise down? (I probably won't be using biobals.)

Thanks very much in advance.

Larry

skylsdale

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Don't feel dumb...I have no clue, either.
icon_biggrin.gif

tomheo

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Larry,

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote