mheaven

Master Member...
Rating - 98.3%
59   1   0
Hello everyone, I had a fish with ich in my system (40b w/ 15g sump). I removed the fish and now have no fish in the tank. I was wondering how long do I need to keep the tank fish less to end the problem? Is 4-6 weeks good or could it be sooner? Thank you, Danny.

james1990

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
im not too experienced with this but this happened to me not too long ago,of course like anything, its a matter of opinion but i have heard and read that it could take up too 8 weeks for the parasite to die off. I think you may have to still put food in the tank when it is fallow but someone more experienced than I will help out on that.

kimilkwon

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
23   0   0
hey danny how you been?

You have any other livestock in there? Bring up the temp in the tank.

They say 8 weeks is their cycle, but i would wait longer since they do not all follow this rule.

mheaven

Master Member...
Rating - 98.3%
59   1   0
Kimilkwon,How you been?
no I have zero fish in the tank.

I did read the ich sticky on the fish sections and in the article it mentioned something about in 4 weeks with no fish it should be gone.
I hope the corals don't suffer due to the fact of no fish in the system for that long.

Last edited:

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
10-12 weeks will give you an almost 100% guarantee of no Ich.

DO add small amount of food to the tank as the bacteria needs it to stay alive. If you have shrimp or snails that you are feeding while the tank runs fishless - that should suffice.

mheaven

Master Member...
Rating - 98.3%
59   1   0
Yes I do have a cleaner shrimp, and I am feeding it.

I'm going to set up a qt tank in about 5 weeks and keep my new fish in them for 4 weeks that should give me 8 weeks with no fish in the system. Let's hope that would do. Thank you all for the replys.

sunny

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
68   0   0