tomheo

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I'm looking to replace my two Mak4's with a Dolphin Aqua Sea Ampmaster 2700. The Mak4's have 3/4" outlets/inlets. I wanted to know if I have the two 3/4" bulkheads from my sump going to one 1 1/2" fitting, will that in effect be similiar to just having a 1 1/2" bulkhead? Mathematically it seems to make sense to me, but it seems like something shouldn't work.
icon_wink.gif
I'd rather not drill a new hole into my sump (especially since I can't take it out of the stand w/o emptying the tank, making the drilling process not so fun).

Thanks!

P.S. I'd be making a manifold for the outlet with some 3/4" fittings going to two opposing Sea Swirls and a chiller.

Jrsydevi1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a math guy or geometry guy, but I AM a plumber, and I can tell you that one 1 1/2" pipe carries MUCH more water than two 3/4 inch pipes will..

If I'm not mistaken, i beleive an 1 1/2" carries almost 4x the volume of a 3/4..

2poor2reef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a math guy OR a plumber but I do eat peppermint patties and I can tell you for sure that there's more peppermint in a 1 1/2 inch in diameter patty than in two 3/4 inchers put together. Wait... I want to test that again.

afss

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
by my calcs the cross sectional area of a 1.5 is app 1.76. it is .88 for 2 * .75 inche pipes. That makes it almost exactly twice the area, so i would think that it should flow approximately twice the volume. I am sure there are other factors that come into play with the flow rates, but i would guess that twice the volume would be pretty close.

Nostrathomas

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
to find volume of a cylindrical object=0.785xdia2xlength Use this formula.Hope this helps.nostra

[ July 08, 2001: Message edited by: Nostrathomas ]

Reef Engineer

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0