22   0   0
Hello. I have been using the following coralife fixture:

• Two on/off switches with two 8-foot power cords for separate timers
  • Built-in ballasts
  • Two cooling fans
  • Sleek aluminum housing
  • Highly-polished reflector
  • Acrylic lens cover
  • Comes with two 65W 10,000K and two 65W True Actinic 03 Blue straight pin base compact fluorescent lamps
  • Fixture measures 48"L x 7"W x 2 1/2"H
  • Voltage frequency: 120V 60Hz
  • Power: 120W
I am new to this hobby and was under the impression that the lighting system previously described, which I have been using for two months, was a T5 system. However, after speaking to several MR members it was brought to my attention that the system is in fact a PC system and I need to switch to Halides. All suggestions regarding lighting are welcome. I am working on a very limited budget.

I would like the shimmering effect in my tank as well as lots of coral growth. I also want the most bang for my buck. I do worry about the heat as my room is warm to begin with. Also, how much is too much light on a 55? I have not yet ruled out T5 lighting however; it seems MHs are the way to go.

I am housing every type of coral and I have inverts including a baby maxima clam.

Last edited by a moderator:

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
Metal Halidie lighting runs very warm, you would need to add fans (do you have a canopy?) to blow the heat away from the tank, but even with them, you will probably need a chiller. Definitely need one if your room is already warm as you state.

Only MH truly gives you the glitter lines you want, and on a 4 foot tank you would need 2 MH's to properly light the tank.

You'll get less heat with T5's and can keep just about any coral under them.

isgon26

Advanced Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 100%
420   0   0