jaBX1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
Looking to upgrade my flow in the tank.
I have a 58gal display. 36x18x20
Right now I have 3 Hydor powerbeads that work fine but a lot of dead spots.

Thinking of making the plunge and spending money on one mp10(or mp40 if needed) or these gyre powerheads.

I have no first hand knowledge of gyre. Anyone have opinions either way? Would one mp10 be enough for my 36" long tank?

evoIX_Reefer

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
126   0   0
All depends on the coral you plan to keep. I have a IM 30L dimensions are somewhat similar with a 36x15x12 dimension.

Right now I am running an IceCap gyre setup 2k + a 1k, SPS dominant with a few euphyllia and a handful of zoas.

If I could do it right the first time I would try for AI NERO5s for more of a wide flow and better simple UI.

With my tank being 15width, the gyres on both ends take up a lot of real estate, which isn't helped by my rockwork.

In a negative space rockwork design, I don't think you can go wrong with either. However if you like having more space in the tank, vortech (300$each) or AI NERO (200$each). Need to go budget? Jebao ($80) or Reefbreeders(130~$) copied the design of the nero but the controllers aren't as controllable as the forementioned options.

I don't know if maxspect went with an app but I do like IceCaps app. I haven't had too much of an issue with it.

Again with my setup/rockwork, I think the AI Neros would have had a better flow than the gyres so I may be biased right now. I had the Maxspect Gyres on my old Red Sea Reefer 350 so figured why not.

My opinion, go with 2 vortech mp10 if you don't like cords in the tank and you plan to keep wrasses. Try the AI NEROs or go to someone who has a similar setup and request for a video. I can take one of the ICECAPS if you need me to. Not many videos on youtube.

jaBX1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
Thanks for the info. I was looking at Icecaps but wasnt sure if they were quality.