A

Anonymous

Congradulations! Just one problem...the egg shells are hard and bad for anything that eats them. They can get lodged in their intestines.

Decapsulated brine eggs should be fine, however.

--Colin

A

Anonymous

The can says that these eggs are "cysts." Anybody have any insight?

Thanks,
James

A

Anonymous

The cysts Can get lodged in the intestines of fish , but I think the risk of this happening is highly over exaggerated. I have been feeding baby banggai baby brine for a few years and have never been too cautious about the cysts except durring my first batch or two. Other fry such as clowns might very well have a problem but I wouldnt worry too much about a few cysts making it to the main tank and having some adult fish ingest a few

------------------
Rod
http://members.aol.com/rodsreef/newpics

A

Anonymous

Rob, I took a look at your tank and it looks great! I like the little alcove/overhang/cave on the right side and now I might do something similar when I get my LR. (My tank is empty except for 7lbs of LR in my refugium.)

Good to know that the cysts won't hurt grown fish as I'm planning to have a pair of clownfish, some green chromis and something pretty for the wife in my tank a few months down the line.

Thanks,
James

A

Anonymous

Well, being lazy and curious, I decided to try to hatch brine shrimp eggs in my tank instead making a hatchery. Basically, I took a cup of tank water, poured in a tablespoon of brine shrimp eggs, stirred and dumped the mixture back into my sump/refugium. A day and a half later, I've got tons of brine shrimp wandering around my refugium and a whole bunch swimming around my display tank!

James

A

Anonymous

Wow Rod-great pics! How long has this tank been up?

------------------
So long and thanks for all the fish...

A

Anonymous