Koyfam16

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
87   0   0
I've read a lot about this but wanted to get some feedback as I'm new to SPS.

I bought a birdsnest a few months ago and it grew to almost 4" in diameter from a 1.5" frag.

In a matter of 2-3 days the entire coral turned white. I checked my parameters and everything checked out as it should and all other corals except for one more that was close to the birdsnest are fine.

The last think I did was I bought a sunset milli and placed this frag next to the birdsnest except I didn't secure the plug good enough. The next day I came home and the milli tipped over and was leaning on one of the birdsnest branches.

I saw it and re secured it to where it was. The next day I saw the tip of that birdsnest branch turned white but I thought maybe it got stung and would recover. Later that day I saw the white become more dominant so I broke that tip off. The next day the rest of the branch turned white so I broke that piece off as well. Today I come home and 90% of it was white except for a few tips which I saved in the hopes it will grow.

My question is whether the milli "stung" the birdsnest or is there something else? My other SPS that was next to the birdsnest also had retracted tentacles but hoping it is fine. I did a water change and changed carbon.

My tank is only 5.5 gallons so I am aware I prob had some sort of temp or alk or some other chemical swing but I find it odd the coral turned white starting from where the milli was on it.

The milli looks fine btw. I couldn't find much info on the web for sunset milli. I know my tank is super small but I take good care of it and all other corals look fine.

Koyfam16

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
87   0   0
I agree duke. I see corals in other peoples tanks touching like crazy. I thought only the original part that was touching would die but it spread so fast. With such a small tank it's tough to stay on top of parameters but it's a lesson learned.