18oreefer

+270
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
Awi, do you have a ground in your tank? In my thinking, i could be wrong here im not an electrician, if you had a ground then it would pick up the voltage. If that ground was connected to a GFCI then it should trip it. If the GFCI were tripped then you would go looking for the problem as soon as you noticed some of your stuff had no power. If there is an electrician reading along please pipe in.

Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
I had purchased a Ground Probe a couple of years ago, but a good friend told me that they are not meant to be used on older houses, which mine is 100 years old. So the Ground Probe never got installed.;(

I had the heater plugged into a Ranco, and the Ranco is plugged into a surge protector.

The one that blew last year in my reef was plugged into the surge protector directly, and when that one blew it not only tripped the surge protector it also tripped my circuit breaker.

Hubby is now insisting that we buy a voltage meter to check the tanks before I put my hands any where near them.;)

So what kind of voltage meter do I look for this purpose?

18oreefer

+270
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
Im not quite sure what kind of meter you should get that you can test the water for voltage. A surge protector is not the same as a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) outlet unless it is a GFCI surge protector. Thats a good question if the GFCI would trip if it is run threw the controller. Perhaps plug the controller into the wall, and then instead of plugging the heaters into the controller into it directly plug a GFCI surge protector into the controller. Then you can plug your heaters into that so this will hopefully never happen again. It also might be worth it to write the makers of stelth heaters.

LongIslandAndy

Advanced Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 100%
24   0   0
If your reef is stable it can certainly go without it's weekly WC.

+100