sambo

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Introduction:

The purpose of this thread is to explain in detailed layman's terms the steps involved to make a simple LED light. You don't have to be an electrical engineer to make one of these lights. With a little effort, practice and some basic knowledge of electricity anyone can make an LED light fixture. This project is a good way for anyone with some reservations or hesitation about pulling the trigger on a large LED project to get their feet wet on something small so that they can get the basics down before diving into something major. I am by no means an expert on electricity and this is only my second time soldering anything. I'm planning on doing a large scale fixture for my 75 gallon in the future.

IMBLIND.jpg

Step 1: Gathering supplies

Tools -

Soldering iron ? get a good one from weller, I did not do this and I am paying for it now! This one I am using is terrible.
Sponge
needle nose pliers
toothpicks or paperclips
screwdriver ? I needed this, you may or may not
heat gun or hair dryer (cigarette lighter will work in a pinch)

supplies.jpg

Materials -

First a little background on how LEDS are typically configured for an aquarium as this will help you to understand how to pick your materials. Most people are using a DC power supply of some kind and connecting a number of drivers to that and then connecting strings of LED's in series which means connecting the negative of one to the positive of the next in a 'string'. The amperage of the power supply will tell you how many strings you can run and the voltage will tell you how many LED's it can power on each string. I suggest you click the links in the below sections to gain a better idea of what I am explaining as they are mostly to data sheets which are important and you will be referring to them when planning to do a larger project.