anen

Rookie Extraordinare
Rating - 100%
31   0   0
So it looks like I'm going to have to wait to set a DT up because my floors are getting sanded. In the meantime, I've been reading and reading and getting impatient! So I've decided to set up a frag tank. Since I'm new to saltwater, I figure it's better to make my mistakes with this and get my feet wet anyway. This is what i'm thinking of doing and would really appreciate some feedback:

Looking around the house, I have a 10 gallon tank, and some 30 gallon Rubbermaid containers. What I'm thinking of doing is purchasing a 20 gallon tank, and plumbing both tanks to a rubbermaid sump. The sump would be used for water only. (Or should I throw a bunch of LR in there?) Then I would fill the 10 gallon with LR and sand for bio filtration. In the 20, I would have some a bit of rock, but mostly just frag trays.

I would then purchase a light to go on top of the 20. Cycle this thing, and then buy some frags! Is it ok if I only put lighting on the 20? What types of frags do you suggest a newbie start with? I'm thinking zoas...

anen

Rookie Extraordinare
Rating - 100%
31   0   0
Does my plumbing make sense? Should I just put sand and rock in the rubbermaid and skip the 10 gal? I think it would make things simpler, but my reasoning for using the 10 is that the sump could get messy and I couldn't easily so what's going on in there from the top.

D1J8Z

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
74   0   0
I would not add both to the same but that is just my opinion. I think adding as much rock as you will be great because when you set up your main display tank you will have nice cycled rock.

anen

Rookie Extraordinare
Rating - 100%
31   0   0
So basically a 10 or 20 plumbed to a rubbermaid tub full of live rock? What's the cheapest way I can do this? Can I get away without drilling or buying an overflow?