lovefish77

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
I am planning to install my return plumbing soon.

Set up
75 gallon tank, with cpr cs102 overflow and jebao dct8000 return. Please note that return line will run off the back of the tank, this is a glass box non reef ready.

Simple Return question (totally plumbing newbie here):

- Shall i use 3/4" soft tubing out of the return pump then into 1" pvc going up into the tank?

OR

- Shall i run 1" soft tubing out of the return pump then into 3/4" pvc going up into the tank?

so in simple terms do i need to keep diameter consistent across the return line? pump is dc so i get to adjust flow in increments.

let me know if you need me to elaborate more on anything.
thx for helping

Reef Trends

www.reeftrends.com
Vendor
Rating - 100%
131   0   0
Just reduce it to whatever you need from the pump. Get a 1.5" FTP (threaded) to slip adapter from HD/Lowes then a reducer bushing from 1.5" to whatever size and connection you need. This will screw onto the output threads of the pump and allow you to plumb however you like back up to the tank.

Last edited:

lovefish77

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
Please i have all the equipment i need, do not try to pm me to selling me gear. I am asking for advise, if i need gear there are specific sites for that.

Now for the reply, thanks, the return pump has a threaded connection with a cone that can accommodate from 1.5" to 3/4" tubing so no parts needed. Here is what i think i may need:

- Brainded nylon 1" on the pump outlet
- barb fitting to fit the braided tube into a pvc 45 degrees wide bender conduit (raduis elbow)
- straight pvc glued to the other end of the 45 degree conduit
then straight up with elbows to the tank

But again should i keep diameter consistent? or can i narrow it down to like 3/4" in the straight pvc pipe?

thx

lovefish77

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
9   0   0