Spartanwarrior

Reefer Always Learning
Rating - 100%
91   0   0
Hey All,

So got this tank built from a friend of a friend. Before you say "I told you so" hear me out. The tank looks great. Exactly how I wanted, built exact size and specs. Not a scratch on delivery. Price to die for.

I am new to this whole clear silicone game and I know its harder to accomplish cleanly, but I wanted the whole floating reef look without splurging for Starphire glass. Most of the seams look great, the main ones on the 4 edges and the bottom are really nicely done. Clean and bubble free. However, one corner of the tank on the overflow side is a complete mess (would be hidden by stand anyway) and the actual eurobracing has a whole mess of microbubbles and some larger ones. I'd like to get some opinions from you all on how this looks from the few pics I post. Should I have the guy redo the eurobracing? Is that even possible? And can I take a scalpel and clean up the mess by the overflow? All expert opinions welcome.

First pic is turned sideways, but this is the mess I discussed around the overflow. Unslightly, so wondering if I can scalpel away and clean it up.

2nd pic is an example of all the edges. Very clean, bubble free. (again sideways)

3rd pic is a part of the eurobracing...this is about 10" of 60" on one side...but this is more common than not. A tad unsettling.

4th pic is the front of the peninsula tank, eurobracing. Pretty large group of bubbles on the brace. Again, unsettling.

It was cheaper than most, but still a big investment and a failure is not an option. Bad news is good news before I put water inside.

If you're in the area and have time to maybe stop by this week and look at this thing in person, it would be greatly appreciated. I'll pay for your gas and time.

Attachments

• 20171126_230532.jpg
    20171126_230532.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 248
  • 20171126_230544.jpg
    20171126_230544.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 251
  • 20171126_230631.jpg
    20171126_230631.jpg