Manhattan Reefs
 

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Market Chat Reef Database Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR


Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2018, 10:58 PM
#1
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 78
Reefer Ratings: (5 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
RO Booster pump question

I have well water and pressure after "blue" holding tank is 60psi
By the time it gets to my RO unit it drops low and it makes the 75gpd membrane not work properly.
So just installed CDP6800, drained 5G from holding tank, installed gauge on membrane input (got almost 80psi now .
When 5G RO was made I saw that waist water stop being produced, but pump was still spinning, not fast but humming ... is pump suppose be on all the time?


I do have a switch before floater and RO shutoff system across membrane



Thank you
Aram
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 12:47 AM
#2
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 78
Reefer Ratings: (5 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
no one has booster pump?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 09:03 AM
#3
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 10
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
I have one but i have it set up to a detachable faucet spout. The booster pump shouldn't be on all the time only when its producing water.

I think you have it set up improperly. The pump should be before the RO unit and after the source water. Putting it in a tank before the pump doesnt help
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 11:09 AM
#4
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 78
Reefer Ratings: (5 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
Thanks for reply.
You probably misunderstood.
Pump installed before sediment filter (first stage in RO)
Switch is installed on product line right before float switch on RO water holding tank.
Maybe switch is faulty? Is there anyway to test that?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 04:32 PM
#5
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 10
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
My booster pump doesnt have a switch. Its plug in and it's on. Maybe it might be the switch. Could also be the flush valve if the unit has one
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes