jackson6745

SPS KILLER
Rating - 99%
201   2   0
I've used the mag 3, 5, 7, 9.5, and 12. They work ok but must be cleaned in vinegar every few months to prevent calcium buildup. You MUST change the stainless screws used on these pumps. The "stainless" screws will rust away in your system and cause you lots of grief. A freakin mag 5 killed half of my SPS tank :(

Last edited by a moderator:

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
jackson6745 said:
I've used the mag 3, 5, 7, 9.5, and 12. They work ok but must be cleaned in vinegar every few months to prevent calcium buildup. You MUST change the stainless screws used on these pumps. The "stainless" screws will rust away in your system and cause you lots of grief. A freakin mag 5 killed half of my SPS tank :(

I've been using my Mags for two years now. I haven't changed out the screws. How long did it take for your screws to rust out and corrupt your system?

I ask because Phosban and Rowaphos are a Ferric Oxide (rust basically) and they don't crash tanks. Any insight would be helpful because right now I'm running six Mag Drives. All with original screws.

Thanks,
Russ

jackson6745

SPS KILLER
Rating - 99%
201   2   0
Good idea Jim.

Russ my mag 5 that was feeding my chiller was 3 years old. It works fine, I have always kept it clean. When I opened the pump the rust was all over! I can't even begin to tell you the awesome SPS that I lost :( The day after I removed the pump it was like a breath of fresh air. With in a week colors and growth tips returned and most importantly no more STN/RTN

aaron

Australian
Rating - 100%
16   0   0
I recently swapped a ocean runner for a mag7 as my main return pump and must say i am a little disappointed, it is extremely noisy in comparison. maybe its just mine or something to do with my setup but the low vibration type noise is resonating through the whole house.

ShaunW

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
60   0   0
INFO ON MAGDRIVE NYLON SCREWS: