Megalodon

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am running a 65 gal tank with built-in D.A.S filtration. I am running 3 compact fluorescent tubes at 256 watts total. About 40 lbs of live rock, live sand, long tentacle sea anemone, 2 xenia’s, button polyp and a leather coral. D.A.S skimmer.

I purchased 2 clarkii clowns from Dallas North Aquarium here locally. One of the clowns larger than the other. So I took a leap of faith. Well looks like it has paid off. The couple is inseparable. The female has taken to the anemone and will not leave unless it wants to feed. The male stays close to the female, but does not share the anemone with the female.

4 questions(I apologize, I am an amateur):

1. I have noticed the male dance in front of the female. Turning sideways and shaking his body very fast. From what I understand this is either courtship behavior or the clowns are still going through their sex change. To make things a little more clear, The female is around 4 inches and the male around 2 ¾ inches. With that said, I have noticed the female shake her body as well. Not as violently as the male. I this normal? Will it result in the female laying eggs?

2. I have noticed the male, specially when my day light tubes go out in the late afternoon, cleaning a piece of live rock close to the female and the sea anemone. He does not take a serious interest in doing it. It’s very sporadic. Is this a sign of courtship?

3. I purchased a piece of ceramic tile from my local hardware store so my clowns can lay their eggs on it. For some reason when I placed the tile in my tank it started to release tiny air bubbles. Looks like there is some kind of reaction with the saltwater. Is this normal. I did take the tile out because I was not sure if it might damage the water.

4. Shouldn’t the male share the anemone with the female as well?

I appreciate your assistance.

Megalodon

Reefguide

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0