Pagodazoa

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
131   0   0
I've been in this hobby for a pretty long time and up until this point I still don't know the proper amount to feed the tank. I'm relatively new to reefing probably only doing it for about six years now but have kept fowlr tanks and fresh for about 15 years. I feel like there's no definite answer that let hobbyist know exactly how much to feed the fish. I went to my lfs this week because of course I've kept a pretty strict water changing regimen about twice a week now to combat a nitrate issue. My philosophy was to always feed a decent amount so everyone got a chance to eat and whatever they could eat in about two minutes id give them. I used to feed frozen everyday until I found out this was a big no no due to the amount of nutrients that go into the water. And I've also fed my tangs including the rest of the fish like my trigger and angel seaweed everyday to curb aggression and maintain proper diet, from what I gather the more they eat seaweed the higher their immune systems. My ammonia and nitrite always remains 0 but my lfs said I've been feeding too much due to the nitrate problem and said to only put two pinches of pellets per day in the tank and feed sea weed and frozen only twice a week. Does everyone agree to this? I want to hear how much you guys are feeding your tanks because I feel like all my fish aren't getting the chance to eat but I could be wrong

MIKE NY

Two Decade Club
Rating - 100%
204   0   0