212jay

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
34   0   0
waltercat said:
So is there anywhere I can buy 40-50Lbs. of Southdown in Manhattan? I know, I know, silly question...

If you find any please let me know. I've been searching for a while. :banghead: :supermad:
Thanks

chasesng

Rating - 100%
16   0   0
i'm a newbie about 30 miles northeast of manhattan who spent a solid 3 weeks trying to find southdown so i could start my tank with the sand everyone was recommending. couldnt find it anywhere. and i scoured the tristate area.

i wound up calling old castle, the national distributor in pennsylvania who had taken over southdown. national sales mgr there told me that southdown was no longer distributed. the company that mined, or manufactured, southdown aragonite sand had gone out of business. he'd heard a rumor that a new company might have taken over the facility but wasnt sure since old castle didnt carry aragonite sand.

i did see some southdown for sale on ebay a few weeks ago, but it looked to be old stock from a guy out in california. he wanted $10/bag plus $40 for shipping. even the most expensive places sell caribsea for less.

so unless you can find a garden center or similar place that has some old inventory, your best bet is a pet warehouse.

waltercat

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I just spoke one of the owners at petaqua on the UWS. They used to be affiliated with the Plant Shed, a garden center on the UWS. He said he could get it by Tuesday for me. My guess is that he does not know they went out of business. I'll see if he can pull through for me. I told him if he did, he'd have a ton of reefers in line for the stuff.

In other substrate topics, how is Nature's Ocean dry marine sand? The Petland near me sells it for $16 for 20 lbs. Looks fine to me, but it has tiny pink peices in it which was not appealing to me, although that wouldn't stop me from buying. Anyone have an experience with this?

212jay

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
34   0   0