CHEMCHEF

PERMANOOB
Rating - 100%
79   0   0
What to do?????
I have been battling this problem for a few months.
Here are the steps I have taken so far.
5 - 10 gallon water changes a week on a 30 gal system.
Running carbon.
Running Phosban.
Pyroxide dosing 1 ml. for every 10 gallon for approx. 5 weeks. Now up to 5 ml. per ten gallons for 8 days. I do not know if upping this dosage is safe.
I cut the lights for three days, three times so far, just to keep it in check a little. However it is amazing how fast it comes back.
I have also cut back on lighting to 8 hours actinic and 6 hours daylight.
Corals an fish are doing quite well but I need to get this under control before it gets out of hand.Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
P.S. All params seem good. Phosphates are .01 according to the Joke,, Sailifert test.

MIKE NY

Two Decade Club
Rating - 100%
204   0   0
it took me a few months to get rid of it.....I did my 10% WC every week, but every other day I did a few gallon W/Cs by siphoning out as much as I can also. I started dosing Special Blend and still do a weekly maintainence. If the Salifert Phos kit reads .01 its alot higher than that...gotta bring them down...W/Cs, cut feedings, better filtration, slowly increase the phosban, more macros in the fuge, lighten the bioload etc...

Paolissimo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
88   0   0