• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

bklynreef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
83   0   0
I've been reefing for well over 25 years. In the beginning I kept my salinity at 1.024 and saw issues with that specific reading. So I figured let me lower it and see if I can keep the parasites at bay. So, slowly I started lowering the salinity to around 1.021 and guess what? My fish and any new fish were doing better, corals also with less deterioration. I was using reef crystals back then and keeping my temperature at around 77-79 degrees. So, I set up a new tank now and forgot what I used to do and went by the book. Started losing a couple of small starter fish but when I lost a potters angel I started wondering. Next came another prize fish starting to act in the similar manner. His mate was chasing him and nipping at him and the My cleaner wrasse was all over him so I knew something wasnt right. So I knew if wanted to save him and any other potential other fish from this similar senario I'd have to go back to what worked for me. I'll be dropping my salinity by 1 degree every 2 days and keeping the temperature on the lower end at 77-78. I'm hoping it works.

So, my question to you all is:
What do you keep your coral reef tank with fish salinity and temperature at?

bklynreef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
83   0   0
1.025? what size tank do you have and what do you have in it? You don t get any fish death at that parameter cause by who know what? Guess I just like to keep it low and keep the parasites at bay. Seems like they thrive on high salinity and high temps.

skene

Winter. Time for Flakes..
Rating - 100%
240   0   0
Recommended reef salinity is 1.023-1.025.. I keep it on the higher end it doesn't get much higher than 1.026 before I top off.
This is with a 40g with approx 16-17g in the sump. I haven't dealt with ich or any other parasites in over 2 years.

skene

Winter. Time for Flakes..
Rating - 100%
240   0   0
come again? stocked heavy?