• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Oddomatic

Reef Enthusiast
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, so like I've said, I am new to the reef scene and am going to be cycling my 22 gallon reef nano shortly. I have done plenty of research, but I want to hear some tips from the pro's out there. Please help me avoid making silly newby mistakes by giving me some guidance here... Thanks.

jgraz

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Put the shrimp or whatever you use to start cycle in tank. Wait awhile for it to start to decompose. Start checking for ammonia. If you are adding any live rock it will boost the cycle along by adding the benificial bacteria. If no live rock/sand it will take longer for the bacteria to start to grow. I suggest adding a least a small piece of live rock. Once you start getting ammonia reading monitor till it comes up zero. Then start testing for nitrites. Again test till it comes to zero. Then you should get reading for nitrates. Cycle is complete after Amm and nitrites are zero.
An alternative to shrimp is to get pure ammonia, not household stuff. Dose to reading of 4ppm on Amm test. Then continue as above. You can find the ammonia usually at hardware stores like ACE.

Last edited:

beerfish

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
32   0   0
The shrimp isn't necessary, but is a common way to kickstart a cycle. Basically you want to introduce a source of ammonia to kick off the cycle. If you get live rock, there's usually enough die-off in transit that you'll have the ammonia needed, you can also add some fish food, add a hardy fish (NOT RECOMMENDED) or (I'm not kidding...) pee in the tank.

Since peeing in the tank is just weird, adding a live fish is cruel, and die-off or fish food take a bit longer to convert to ammonia, the shrimp is a more commonly accepted practice.

I've never used a shrimp, and my tank has always naturally cycled in 4-6 weeks.