• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Rating - 100%
161   0   0
Hello everyone I have a question I am upgrading from 120 gallon to a 300 gallon tank soon . I have 250 gallons of total water volume in my system now. What do you think the best way would be to go about doing the upgrade. I will be using most of my old rock some new and new sand . What would be the best way to go about doing this upgrade. I am trying to a void a cycle to minimize my losses in fish and corals . Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks

gnorts

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
I am no expert but I have done the upgrade and downgrade a few times. Never lost coral or fish in any of the situations.

I always put new sand and used about 50 percent of the water from the existing tank and 50 percent new water. Like someone else stated like doing a big water change. Get your temperate the same. I then always dripped the fish/ coral in to new tank and never had a cycle. Again I am no expert but hope this helps good luck

NYreefNoob

Skimmer Freak
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
dont use dr tims, get a bottle of microbe lift special blend and a bottle of the nite-out 2 and use it, you will go through a minnie cycle reguardless, mainly diatom bloom, do use as much of your old water as possible and water ever additional with new water to make up the differance

Bikeboss11

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
35   0   0
dont use dr tims, get a bottle of microbe lift special blend and a bottle of the nite-out 2 and use it, you will go through a minnie cycle reguardless, mainly diatom bloom, do use as much of your old water as possible and water ever additional with new water to make up the differance
Hey Noob, why shouldn't he use dr Tim's.... Is there an issue with it???

LowezAkar24

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 94.6%
35   2   0