andylee

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
21   0   0
Hi,
I am by no means an expert in reefing, but I've been doing it for a while and have always read as much as I can. I am at least moderately concerned about the welfare of my livestock as well as the condition of reefs in the wild.

So the question is: should I (or we) tell those who are obviously unprepared the harsh facts (ie: their fish/anemones/corals are doomed and their tank is doomed to failure) or just let them keep messing around and killing everything. People who buy salt, a tank, and a pair of "nemos" at the same time or those who put anemones into uncycled tanks with a strip light come to mind.

I know that people come to this site for help. I hate to sound professorial or condescending, but I'd like them to learn to do the right thing. After I post a mean-sounding answer, I feel bad.

Advice?

Andy

House of Laughter

Super Moderator
Staff member
Vendor
Rating - 100%
310   0   0
Andy,

Quiet sarcasm has always worked for me when moderating the board - I also use he appropriate emoticons when trying to show the recipient that I am kidding, but not kidding - if you know what I m saying.

MR, as a rule, does not typically "flame" members about thier choices like other reef boards, but they will chime in one by one to make sure new members understand why and how they are doing things "right" and "wrong" typically providing other information in support of thier position.

As vendors, however, we are required to maintain a certain ethical standards - and more often than not, I am saying no to a member wanting to make a purchase with recommendations of another approach or to just plain NOT do what they were asking to do i.e add fish, put SPS into a 3 month old tank etc.

So, if you're looking to help newer members understand the nuances of what it takes to develop a successful reef, I suggest you reed the reef for beginners threads and information available there - feel free to add any content where you want -