DonCisco

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
what size tank? It can be a too small due to their dietary needs. And remember that you won't be able to have much of a flow, seahorses cannot have too strong of a flow.

tosiek

Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Check out www.nano-reef.com or some of the other nano sites. Seen people have set up 12g nano's with seahorses that were running for 5+ months.

24g should be more than enough.

edit: Do some research, i'm no expert in seahorses but have seen successful tanks with seahorses + coral so take my word of advice with a grain of salt.

Last edited:

ReefDriven

Rating - 100%
22   0   0
I have a seahorse setup in my 12gallon running for about 3months now. Their doing great. Took out the pump in the nano and added one with less gph, some zoos and polyps, 4 reid seahorses and dead coral branches for them to grasp on. I built a refugium in the second chamber for the nano and do a 2liter water change every 2-3 days. 3 months isn't long but I've my seahorses are happy. They like to be fed throughout the day. I feed them live brine shrimp in the morning, afternoon and before I leave the office. So your 24 gallon is more than enough. Just don't overstock Like I did or you'll be doing water changes quite often. Hope this helps..

andylee

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
21   0   0
Size should be fine

I've kept two emperor seahorses on my desk at work for 4 years in an 11 gallon, tall tank. It should be fine. Be sure you figure out feeding (mine are tank-raised and eat frozen mysis).

Mixing stinging corals and seahorses may not be such a great idea, though.

Savager

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
I don't see any problem with keeping seahorses in NC24. However, if you research about the seahorses, they are mostly require low temperature to keep them happy. For my experience, it's really hard to keep NC tank to low temp. If you can keep your tank temperature low, I think NC24 is great looking tank to keep seahorse.