G

gay

i am new to the hobby and very down since the blackout. i lost my nemo after the blackout and also a coral beauty, but a damsel survive.
nemos body must have been aten behind rock?

i dont have any money so my new reef will be without any more fish for some time.

i guess it could be worse but one side of me wants to give up reefkeeping already i didn know it would be so complicated.

:(

jackson6745

SPS KILLER
Rating - 99%
201   2   0
Do not be discouraged because you lost a clown and an angel. Many people lost a lot more life than you during the blackout. If you are serious into the reef hobby (obsession), and want to limit your losses, spend lots of time reading on this site and also Reefcentral.com. The stuff you learn on these sites is based mostly on the experience of other reefers...so you don't make the same mistakes.

good luck,
Rich

G

gay

Rating - 99%
201   2   0
thank u jackson thats so sweet. i will probaby get some damsels as every other kind of fish too pricey for me now and what if another blackout.

Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
Hi Gay, Please do not allow yourself to be discouraged. A reef is the most beautiful, satisfying, relaxing hobby you could ever get into. I have kept fresh water aquariums for about 30yrs., salt water for about 3, and a reef for about 1 1/2. I have to tell you the most satisfying one has been the reef. I don't have much in it, but still, and all I love my reef.
As to just getting some damsels, I would just save my money. I would hold out until I have saved enough to purchase the fish that I know I would really enjoy. All salt water fish are not expensive. I also do not have a ton of money, therefore I look for specials, and I buy my fish small and watch them grow. As a matter of fact I get more pleasure out watching them grow. You get the satisfaction of knowing you are doing something right.