Manhattan Reefs
 

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Market Photo Gallery Chat Reef Database Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR


Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2017, 02:57 PM
#1
Senior Member
LIreefguy106's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Nassau, Long Island
Posts: 207
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (0)
LIreefguy106 is online now View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Can BRS reactor modified as algae reactor?

Greetings fellow hobbyists,

So after much deliberation and frustration (as with anything in the hobby) I'm trying to modify my single BRS reactor into an algae reactor. I came up with the decision after realizing that my candy cane heads and hammers are not splitting even with everything I've tried (DT: 90g mixed reef with 15g sump, ReefOctopus skimmer, Carbon/GFO reactor, but no room for refugium). I realize that hammers barely ever split but nevertheless I have heard that candy canes are more known to growing heads. I've had mine for over a month and they're stagnant. They're plump but nothing else. Meanwhile, another hobbyist (20g hex reef) has macro growing in his display and his heads are splitting once every 2-3 weeks. That lead me to believe that the nutrients are super low and the macro is helping with the growth. Instead of having macroalgae overtake my DT, I was thinking of plumbing my extra reactor as an algae reactor. Can this be done, am I on the right track?

Pics for reference of what I'm looking to accomplish with a BRS reactor (one we've all seen before):



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by LIreefguy106; 06-18-2017 at 03:01 PM..
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:25 AM
#2
NYC
Member
NYC's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Queens
Posts: 58
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (0)
NYC is online now View My Gallery Send a Private Message
I've hair algae growing in the tank and had some issues with macro no growing in my sump so I've built one using these items and it's been a week now macro is growing quickly in the reactor. Also it seems like hair algae is is dying because i can peal it off easily.

Even since I stated using fish frenzy food my corals started growing a lot but also hair algae.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 08:22 PM
#3
Senior Member
oh207's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Amityville, NY
Posts: 1,928
Reefer Ratings: (24 (100%)
Friends: (3)
oh207 is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message View oh207's Twitter Profile
I don't think a BRS reactor should be used as an algae reactor.
You can certainly try to use it, but here is why I think it's not a good idea.

Reactor doesn't easily stand on its own.
I think the reactor's case is too thick. And so will prevent light penetration.
The groves on the reactor will not easily allow you to wrap the external light
Lastly, I believe the reactor is too small.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________

---
Search for Cancer cure, search for Aliens, and search for the meaning of the Universe.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 08:28 PM
#4
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long island
Posts: 1,709
Reefer Ratings: (31 (100%)
Friends: (11)
Reef lover24 is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Not sure if its the best idea but may work. I just always use macro algae in my refugium even if its a small section.. As for your sump it think a 15g sump on a 90g reef is just too small. But that's my opinion. Good luck on whatever you decide. Maybe able to give some cheato in the future.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 06:49 PM
#5
vio
Senior Member
vio's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 2,534
Reefer Ratings: (58 (98%)
Friends: (54)
vio is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
My ans. is NO
Not much space inside the reactor.
I never like the idea to run , or make "Algae Reactor" unless your tank is 3 Gal.
To really reduce Nutrition , Po4 ,Nitrate you need a "way" more Algae to have (grow).
You got two choice
Algae Scrubber .....works great, need NOT much light but need pump, NOT much space compare to Chaetto.
Option 2
Chaetto , need high PAR light to grow well, 4 x more space than A.S. high water flow and space.
Attached Thumbnails
   
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:56 PM
#6
Senior Member
LIreefguy106's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Nassau, Long Island
Posts: 207
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (0)
LIreefguy106 is online now View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Can BRS reactor modified as algae reactor?

Space is a restriction. I don't have room in my sump to partition off for Chaeto growth. Algae scrubber seemed like too much work when the Reactor would do the same? I saw some YouTube vids on people getting good growth from Reactors. Granted the BRS may be too small but something along those line. Thoughts?

This is the room I'm working with (I can possible relocate my dosing containers on the bottoms left onto the door or elsewhere) But for the time being this is my limitation:


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Attached Thumbnails
  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 11:43 PM
#7
Senior Member
oh207's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Amityville, NY
Posts: 1,928
Reefer Ratings: (24 (100%)
Friends: (3)
oh207 is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message View oh207's Twitter Profile
What are the dimensions of the sump? If you have the space in the first section (or willing to make adjustments), you can move the skimmer to first section and grow chaeto in the middle.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________

---
Search for Cancer cure, search for Aliens, and search for the meaning of the Universe.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 03:42 PM
#8
Senior Member
LIreefguy106's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Nassau, Long Island
Posts: 207
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (0)
LIreefguy106 is online now View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Quote:
Originally Posted by oh207 View Post
What are the dimensions of the sump? If you have the space in the first section (or willing to make adjustments), you can move the skimmer to first section and grow chaeto in the middle.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk


I'll have to measure it, not sure of the measurements. What about my 7" filter sock? I don't mind making adjustments


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 08:56 AM
#9
vio
Senior Member
vio's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 2,534
Reefer Ratings: (58 (98%)
Friends: (54)
vio is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
I use to run , one at the time, Chaetto or Algae Scrubber , i will say A.S. is more effective, less space, i run on 220 Gal. for cure 400 lb. Pukani Rocks, i will post the pic. soon, one plastic sheet for A.S. may be more effective 4 x than Chaetto Reactor, i see one for sale few weeks ago, nice Acrylic cover , all you need is one pump , one light i got (Amazon,$30, NO fans) suspended next to Protein Skimmer.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes