A

Anonymous

Exactly, you can make your own green water, even keep the same culture going by just topping off. Cryopreserved paste or the sprayed dried stuff from ESV is also a decent substitute but the live stuff is usually preferred.

Tom

A

Anonymous

I've been using ESV's Phytoplankton and have been having good results with it.

Ken

A

Anonymous

Is there a good, less expensive, replacement for DT's phytoplankton? I'm new to reefkeeping so have'nt had much experience with other foods.

A

Anonymous

Greetings,

I use DT's Phytoplankton and find it quite economical to use.. Just refill with tapwater and place it in a window for sunlight.. Have the same gallon culture going for close to 4 mos now
smile.gif

------------------
-- Tom Phillips
..Creative Reefs.. www.intltradeinstitute.com/reef.html

A

Anonymous

I'm presently not using any photoplankton supplements, I've always been afraid to add them. I understand the benefits; but does anyone notice there skimmer over skimming during times of addition? Also when does everyone add this stuff? Do you shut down your pumps for alittle while? How much does everyone add? I'm very open to the topic but I don't know much about its use and application.

A

Anonymous

Greetings,

I add 1 cup per 50 gal twice weekly.. I leave my pumps and powerheads going.. My skimmer is not really affected by the addition of the live Phytoplankton but my corals sure seem to like the stuff
smile.gif

------------------
-- Tom Phillips

A

Anonymous

I add ESV every other day. ESV has some type of additive which causes the protein skimmer to temporarily stop skimming for about 3 hours.

Ken

A

Anonymous

HI: