A

Anonymous

Hi all,
I have a 180 gal tank that is currently running carbon. The water is crystal clear except for VERY small suspended particles. These particles reside in the water column and I am unable to get truly crystal clear water. I do about a 15% water change every 2 weeks and the problem still remains. I have Aragamax as a substrate, but I am certain that the sand is not the culprit.

I have tried different types of Mechanical filtration, but none seem to help.

Can anyone help me out? Maybe you have had a similar experience. I am thinking of trying ozone to put an end to this problem but do not want to "kill a fly with a bazooka".

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as always.

------------------
I am NOT an expert and I will NEVER claim to be one. If my thoughts are incorrect please show me the error of my ways but please do so respectfully, the same way you would wish to be treated.

R.E.Moses

[This message has been edited by Richard E Moses (edited 28 January 2000).]

A

Anonymous

I had tiny little white specks in my water column too, so I shut off all the water motion to get a better look. It turned out that the specks were in fact living pods! Since the water motion stopped, I could see them darting about in the water!

My advice to you is to inspect these specks. Also I noticed some tiny little molt shells from some 'pod molting.

A

Anonymous

Some are fine bubbles, but the majorty seems to be floating "stuff". I have turned off the pumps and most of it seems to settle. There are a few pin sized organisms having a merry time but not enough to notice.

I have seen some beautiful reefs both in peoples homes and at LFS that do not have this problem.

I am at a loss as what to do. I have used a diatom to do a spot cleaning (maybe about once every two month) but the problem persists. Althought I do have a magnum 350 running with filter in place (this is temporary)this does not help.