DaFrog

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I introduced a yellow tang in my 75 gallons tank last night and my bicolor angelfish (half the size) keeps chasing him - tang's dorsal fin has a tear now - Should I give the tang to the LFS I got him from and just wait - Note: I rearranged some of thh rocks, fed everybody trying to avoid such a situation, but to no avail.

Thxs

-nicolas

Sea Turtle

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am really no expert on fish but I thought that the angel was generally peaceful. Maybe he is just being a little teritorial seing that his space has been intruded upon. He might get over it and except him over the next week. I have all reef freindly fish in my tank and everytime I add a new fish in there are always one or two that give him a hard time for a few days. They all get over it and except the fish eventually. Now, this might not be the case in your tank though. Might be worth it to give him a few more days though. All the moving and stress could kill it anyway...

Mike612

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Generally speaking, angels are pretty territorial towards newcomers. Give them a few more days together. If the Bicolor Angel doesn't stop picking on the tang, take the tang back. Odds are that it will calm down though.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with Mike. I have found that marine fishes, for the most part, are FAR too intelligent to fall for the old "Let's just rearrange his room and fool him!" trick. In fact, I've never had one fall for that trick, they have to be removed, two week time-out was the minimum that worked, once. Basically, you could put the angel into a QT (or your sump if you have it set up that way), physically separate them, allow the tang time to establish a territory and get its sea-legs. Then, reintroduce the angel and, if it's been given sufficient time to "feel" as though it's a newcomer again, should mind its P's & Q's a little better.