rookie07

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 97.5%
235   6   0
I dont know anything for sure...but I would think its the type of light they give off, HID/Xenon(I thought they were different things actually) dont give off light in the correct spectrum range to grow life.....so, no they shouldnt work...but hey IM A ROOKIE

NYreefNoob

Skimmer Freak
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
I Have 2 Complete Set's That I Was Thinking Of Doing This With On A Nano, The Light Spectrum {color}isnt Correct And These Thing's Do Put Out Alot Of Heat, I Had Spoke With Sanjun Sp ? About This At One Of The Swap's And Said It Might Be Possible To Do So, OH AND BTW SOME OF THESE BULBS RUN $400 AVERAGE IS AROUND $120

Pootie

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
I Have 2 Complete Set's That I Was Thinking Of Doing This With On A Nano, The Light Spectrum {color}isnt Correct And These Thing's Do Put Out Alot Of Heat, I Had Spoke With Sanjun Sp ? About This At One Of The Swap's And Said It Might Be Possible To Do So, OH AND BTW SOME OF THESE BULBS RUN $400 AVERAGE IS AROUND $120

i don't know if you guys are speaking about the same HID/Xenon lights.. But the ones that i know of comes in a few measures of Kalvin<~ spellcheck.

but they range from 4k -14k
and are a lotttt cheaper then u'd think..

check this out ...if it would work as a DIY then it might be worth it,, but i think the light spectrum is wayyy off.

http://www.b20vtec.com/forums/top-s...-kits-all-sizes-colors-picked-up-shipped.html

and i personally can get them a lotttttt cheaper than the price posted.

NYreefNoob

Skimmer Freak
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
that's the same as comparing a chinese bulb to phoniex or usio, trust me i work in a dealership, how about a $380 hid bulb for a 08 prius. alot if not all of the factory hid require a certain voltage and ampage, not theying they wont work but that ballast gets really warm and i wouldnt put a generic ballast on my tank mh or other

Pootie

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0