Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
I've been attempting to cure some Tonga & Kaelini rocks without a protein skimmer.yikes I don't have another skimmer to spare, I did place an old Seaclone I had laying around for water circulation which it is all it does and a heater..
I have to say that I have never done this before. My original live rocks were all purchased alive.
Now for the problem. I think I've had them in the bin for like 3 or 4 weeks. Two weeks ago everything was off the charts. So I did a water change.
Last week the ammonia was 0 and the trites were 1.6. Good, right. Now today I don't know what to think; Ammonia is up .3, trites .3 and trates are 15.
The trites and the trates I get, but what is up with the Ammonia?
What besides the skimmer am I doing wrong?

thewolfguy

shadow member
Rating - 92.3%
24   2   0
rocks

try taking a few cycled rocks from your main tank as well as making sure the current rocks in their do not smell like sulfur. If they do, then you know you had something die off on them.

Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
Is It Getting Light ?{ Dont Need Light } U Have A Power Head In There For Water Movement, And Should Have Let Water Stay In There And Let It Fully Cycle

I have the lid sitting on top of the bin.
The only PH is the one attached to the stupid sc.
That is what I thought, but another reefer stated otherwise.

try taking a few cycled rocks from your main tank as well as making sure the current rocks in their do not smell like sulfur. If they do, then you know you had something die off on them.

No sulfur smell.;) Rocks were completely cooked before I got them.
Came to me so white and pretty! Kinda of shame that they won't stay that way once they go in my tank.:tongue1:

i have a aqua c skimmer ev180 you can borrow. i have it and could not sell it so its sitting here

Thank you ecvernon! Will let you know!