bacalao

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Hey all,

What do you all think about using distilled water in a reef tank? I have been using distilled water in my tank for the last 3 months. I no longer have access to a ro/di unit. I have noticed more green algae in my tank and some brown spots on the back wall of my nano cube.

Should I be using distilled water? Is it ok? Do you think any of the green algae and brown spots (algae ?) is due to the distilled water or just high phospate ( my phosphate level is a tad high).

thanks in advance for any info.

bacalao

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Thats good to hear. I thought the rise in green algae was due to the distilled water.

Any thoughts on what the small brown spots on my back wall may be? the spots are starting to cover some of the coralline algae I have growing on the back of the tank and they is like a brown layer on my koralia powerhead.

Thanks for all the info, its appreciated.

ZANYMASTER

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
410   0   0
Dean,if you look behind the bottle of "Drinking water" which is sold at Walmart,it says processed by the the way of Reverse Osmosis.So that that is what the F it is.
smilie.gif

Last edited:

TimberTDI

Recovering Lurker
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Dean,

In case people are too lazy to read:

Walmart and Giant Brands No Different than Tap Water

Two of 10 brands tested, Walmart's and Giant's store brands, bore the chemical signature of standard municipal water treatment ? a cocktail of chlorine disinfection byproducts, and for Giant water, even fluoride. In other words, this bottled water was chemically indistinguishable from tap water. The only striking difference: the price tag.

In both brands levels of disinfection byproducts exceeded safety standards established by the state of California and the bottled water industry: