Jaftica

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
88   0   0
Hello, my name is Rob S., I live on Long Island, NY. In Port Jefferson. I'm new to reefkeeping, I just set up a new 130d red sea nano 34 gallon system. installed a sump with a refugium section, still looking for chaeto for the refugium. The setup is 1 week old. I added 45 Lbs of live rock i bought from aqua hut in coram ny. also 20 lbs of live sand. it was carib sea. now i just have to wait for a cycle. Any tips would be great, And appreciated. thanks

daisy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
19   0   0
Welcome to MR, Rob!

greatest tips (you'll find them all over this site) would be read a ton and don't rush your cycle.

If you have particular animals in mind, research what their needs are and make sure you can supply what they need before you buy them.

Ask tons of questions here, but do searches on the site, too.

Rating - 100%
87   0   0
Hey Rob! welcome to Manhattan Reefs. Definitely a great site filled with great locals that are willing to take the time to help the members.

Best advice would be : DON'T RUSH!. It can be boring staring at a tank cycling but it is definitely a great time to research and figure out what you want to stock the tank with!

Plumbing and adding a sump was a great idea. Definitely will leave you more room for a nice large fuge and a larger skimmer!

Do you have a controller? i would definitely recommend getting a controller.

Post some pictures!

Jaftica

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
88   0   0
Hey Jonny, I like having the sump for the refugium and having the ability to add things that otherwise could not be used due to space limitations. i don't have a controller yet. what do you reccomend for a controller. I will post pictures as soon as i can.

jcolon2

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
22   0   0