Manhattan Reefs
 

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Market Chat Stores Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR


Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2011, 10:16 PM
#1
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 242
Reefer Ratings: (1 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
Help Coral Newbie

Newbie here! A few days ago I purchased a branching Frogspawn coral. At the LFS all three branches were blooming. Since I brought it home only one of the three braches is blooming. The other two are completly closed. Any advice would help.

Stack
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:22 PM
#2
Moderator
KathyC's Avatar
Moderator: This member is a Moderator. - Issue reason:  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Barnum Island
Posts: 13,954
Reefer Ratings: (110 (100%)
Friends: (136)
Send a Private Message
It could be anything..flow, water quality, lighting.
Can you post your parameters, a little about your tank (age, gallons, lighting, Sg, temp), and a pic would be very helpful.
__________________
The beginning is the most important part of the work -Plato
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:32 PM
#3
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 242
Reefer Ratings: (1 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
My tank is 8 months old. It's 75 gallons. Just got into the reef aspect of this hobby. I bought the lighting used. It's a current compact fluorecent light fixture. 130 watts. I know I need to purchase a new lighting system. Any advice on that would help too. I try to keep the corals high on the rock to be closer to the light. My hammer and torch corals are doing great. Water quailty is: salinity 1.024, PH 8.4, ammonia 0, nitrite, 0, nitrate 80, calcium 460, alkalinity 12, phosphate 2

Stack
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:35 PM
#4
Newbiee 4 Ever
rkaragozler's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 3,235
Reefer Ratings: (54 (100%)
Friends: (165)
Send a Private Message
i think between your nitrate at 80, and phosphate at 2, you have a problem. What test kits are you using
__________________
A couple of years ago, I had an idea that it would be nice to one day have a reef aquarium. Looking at the last six months of my credit card statements, I should have just left it the way it was.
"You will not be the world as we know it , and u will not be human if u didnt have issues"..
Richies Reef Tank Build
https://www.manhattanreefs.com/forum/...hies-reef.html
My Bio
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8yfaZBXRMA
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:37 PM
#5
MemBiZzLe.
noelskii's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: BrOnx
Posts: 3,062
Reefer Ratings: (37 (97%)
Friends: (34)
Send a Private Message
where is it located in the tank? frogspawns usually like medium flow and medium light.
__________________
reef reef

<-click


Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:40 PM
#6
Moderator
KathyC's Avatar
Moderator: This member is a Moderator. - Issue reason:  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Barnum Island
Posts: 13,954
Reefer Ratings: (110 (100%)
Friends: (136)
Send a Private Message
You might want to knock that Nitrate number down Do you do water changes often and what percentage do you change?
Keep in mind, you hammer & torch may have lived through the slow rising of the nitrate number, but a new coral may not be as forgiving as they are.

Is the new coral placed in the same type area as the hammer & torch flow wise? (hope that makes sense)
I will assume you know not to place these 3 type corals near each other so they don't reach out & sting each other

As for the lighting..a 6 bulb T 5 fixture would be a solid addition to a 75g and enable you to grow whatever type coral you want.
__________________
The beginning is the most important part of the work -Plato
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:50 PM
#7
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 242
Reefer Ratings: (1 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
I use the API test kits. The coral is midway high and in medium flow area. I always had a nitrate problem from day 1. Never got it below 80. My nitrate levels have been between 80 and 160. I used the instant ocean nitrate reducer but for me it doesnt help much. I do a 20% water change every two weeks with RO/DI water. I'm going to start weekly water changes this weekend. Yes I been reading alot about corals and how they can fight with each other so I'm being wise where to place them. I was thinking about a T5 fixture as well. Thanks for reconfirming that.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:08 PM
#8
Moderator
KathyC's Avatar
Moderator: This member is a Moderator. - Issue reason:  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Barnum Island
Posts: 13,954
Reefer Ratings: (110 (100%)
Friends: (136)
Send a Private Message
Did you originally purchase your live rock 'used'..it could have been in a tank with high nitrate readings and may still be leeching nitrates...or overfeeding might be an issue, or an old sand bed...
Probably best to increase your water changes to weekly and try and get that under control. Unfortunately, nothing out of a bottle will clear that up for ya. Knocking it down will only do great things for your tank
Do you have any chaeto in your sump?
Are you running a reactor with GFO or a carbon reactor?
__________________
The beginning is the most important part of the work -Plato
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:19 AM
#9
Percula Agent
SaltyFlip's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Elmhurst
Posts: 467
Reefer Ratings: (6 (100%)
Friends: (2)
Send a Private Message
Did you acclimate them correctly?
__________________
Stewie:
"Heavens, it appears my wee-wee's been stricken with rigor-mortis." - Stewie

12g JBJ NCDX established January 2008-January 2011


Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 242
Reefer Ratings: (1 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
I bought the LR new but the substrate was from the previous owner of the tank. I have caulerpa in my sump. I don't have a reactor and never used carbon in my tank. Can you use carbon in a netted bag without the reactor?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes