Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi folks, new to the forum and hobby. I thought I'd post some pics for my build and update along the way. Very basic stuff here as I'm just learning everything as I go.

I currently have nutri-seawater and a live sand/live rock set up. I let the tank cycle for about 1 month and the levels were evening out. At that point I added 2 turbo snails and modified the back, removing the false bottoms in chamber 1 and 2. Chamber 1 houses my BioCube skimmer. Chamber 2 houses my inTank media basket containing filter floss, a pouch of charcoal, and some Chaeto. Chamber three houses the stock return pump and my Colbalt 75W heater. I affixed a magnetic light to the back for my Chaeto - JBJ Nano Glo LED refugium light. Stock lighting for the tank itself. I also added a Hydor nano 240 fan for extra water flow.

After adding the Chaeto my nitrates disappeared but I guess that's the point. The snails are thriving and I purchased some shrimp today - 2 cleaners and 1 fire. Copepods (or whatever they are) are all over the place (introduced with the Chaeto I guess).

I've done only 1 water change so far (about 2 weeks ago) and my levels are good. I'm topping off with distilled water. Using and refractometer for salinity and SG.

I'm hoping for some answers to basic questions and for some guidance along the way. I've seen some incredibly amazing tanks on this forum, hats off to everyone. I'm hoping I can build up something remotely close over time.

Gunning for a mixed reef tank - fish, inverts, corals.

Anyway I'm getting too wordy so here's the questions and pics (not much to see so far)

- Are water changes necessary if your levels (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, etc) are steadily zero?

- Any advice on rockscaping? not feeling my setup

- My sand bed has basically become an algae bed (see picks) what the frick do I do about that?

- How long does coralline take to develop? I have some on my snails' shells but it ain't spreading anywhere?.