fishyaquare

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been searching all over Manhattan for some small freshwater snails. I've even called some of the vendors listed here but no resolve. Could you please tell some places that sell freshwater snails in Manhattan?

Airborneguy

Reefer till I Die!!
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
I have tons of them, two or three different species. If you are ever in SI you can have as many as you want for free. Are you sure you want to do this? they breed like crazy!

fishyaquare

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ty

Wow thank you! I'm going to check this PetCo near my job. If they don't have them I may take you up on that offer. Thanks again!!

Airborneguy

Reefer till I Die!!
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
They breed like crazy in my tank... the ones I have now are all small because I try to weed them out every time they get big. You can have 100 from me if you want, I could careless! Just let me know.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a lot of experience with freshwater snails

MHO the two best kinds of snails to have in your tank are Malaysian trumpet snails (MTS) and the Pomacea bridgesii.

MTS are small and look liek unicorn horns. they don't breed quite as fast as other small pest snails. the live in your gravel and come out mostly at night and clean up. they stir up the gravel in the process. stay away from the other pond snails they breed faster and will out compete the MTS and aren't as usefull to the tank and arent as pretty.

When I kept freshwater tansk I woudl keep several MTS snails IN the power filter they woudl crawl along the mechanical filter and eat all the bits of un eaten food and other nastyness. I also got lots of small fresh water mussles and put them in a filter cartridge to help naturaly filter out fish and snail waste from the tank. this doesn't work very well in fresh water, but clams and mussles ina slate waater filter work well.