jr973

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
415   0   0
I needed some help undecided on which camera to buy a canon eos rebel xti with stock 18-55mm lens or a nikon d60 with upgraded 55-200mm lens. Anyone familiar with cameras that can chimme in would be much appreciated. As I have no experience with this field. Thanks

Levito

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
IMO, really it's just personal preference. Both cameras likely have the features you need whether it's aperture variation, shutter speed control, large ISO range, WB bracketing, etc. It's really all about the lenses. Get whichever camera you can get a better deal on and spend the difference on nice fast lenses. The quality of your pictures will be affected 100x more by the lens than the camera.

Kendall

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
I couldn't decide between the 2 either. After reading and reading and reading, I got so confused I was paralized. I decided to go to http://www.wholesalephoto.com/ I used to live close to them and knew they were still there.They stock both brands, and for my needs he recommended the Nikon. I don't know where you are in NJ, but might be worth the ride, or at the least a phone call. Their prices were the same as online prices too.

lee van cleef

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a Photography student at SVA and I 100% agree with Levito. They're both good cameras but it's all about the lenses. Nikon has a little better image quality at higher ISOs, but you might not even notice.

jr973

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
415   0   0
I couldn't decide between the 2 either. After reading and reading and reading, I got so confused I was paralized. I decided to go to http://www.wholesalephoto.com/ I used to live close to them and knew they were still there.They stock both brands, and for my needs he recommended the Nikon. I don't know where you are in NJ, but might be worth the ride, or at the least a phone call. Their prices were the same as online prices too.