walnuts24

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Long story short, my gf is graduating nursing school next may and is going to be moving here from Richmond, VA. I work as an engineer in Huntington and live in Oyster Bay. The area where I live is nice and all, but it is not very mid-20's friendly.

She wants to live "somewhere cool".

I hear a lot of good things about Astoria for younger people, but it is a little far from my job in Huntington.

I have no idea about communities in Queens and am looking for some suggestions either there or western Nassau County. Needs to be safe and "cool" (bars, restaurants, parks, transportation).

Thanks for the suggestions

stooops718

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Astoria is great basically the next "Williamsburg" If that's your thing. Jackson Heights is pretty cool too, close to all. Some parts of Forest Hills near Austin Street are great too. Lots of bars and restaraunts on Austin Street. For a commute to LIRR somewhere near the Jamaica Station would be ideal, although some of that area can be shady. I live in Flushing , a quick bus ride to either the subway or the Jamaica LIRR and close to all the major highways. My neighborhood is pretty quiet but I have 3 kids now so that's good for me plus a backyard. When we go out with friends we usually go to the city anyways.

Good luck finding a place.

Rating - 99.1%
225   2   0
Not Flushing unless you speak Chinese where all the night life things are Chinese speaking/oriented. Even Korean night life things windled down over the years here. Mexican hang out down Northen Boulevard-I was told bear is SUPER SUPER cheap-like $1.50 and people are having a lot of fun. Shops here close at 7pm-9pm.

Last edited:

stooops718

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0