DrCooper

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Anyone have any experience with a small backyard pond build? Thinking 5 x 8 feet. Good news is I have no issue with winter as I am now in Miami, but wanted to see if anyone had any good resources, advice, etc?

Thanks in advance

Ponyboy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
33   0   0
Bead filters are not the best they require big pumps and they take away from the flow
Go to koiphen.com
A lot depends on what Wil be suggested
Do u want a formal or informal pond
Do u want a filter pit
Is the system gravity or pump fed
Do you want low maintenance then a RDF
What's your budget
There is no one simple answer to this question
What will you be keeping in there
A bottom drain is a must
Yes over size your UV but watch your flow rates
Hard to over kill your filtration
Build it once and do it correct the cheap way always costs more in the end
I landscape and build ponds for a living been there and seen that it's not cheap but you can do a lot of work yourself to save some money

DrCooper

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Bead filters are not the best they require big pumps and they take away from the flow
Go to koiphen.com
A lot depends on what Wil be suggested
Do u want a formal or informal pond
Do u want a filter pit
Is the system gravity or pump fed
Do you want low maintenance then a RDF
What's your budget
There is no one simple answer to this question
What will you be keeping in there
A bottom drain is a must
Yes over size your UV but watch your flow rates
Hard to over kill your filtration
Build it once and do it correct the cheap way always costs more in the end
I landscape and build ponds for a living been there and seen that it's not cheap but you can do a lot of work yourself to save some money

Thank you for the great resource and response!
I plan to keep a few fish, turtle and any amphibians I can honestly. 5 x 8 feet!

Ponyboy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
33   0   0
What type of fish