walnuts24

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
I have been keeping freshwater fish since I was 10 years old and my mom bough my brother and I a 29 gallon tank that we used for oscars and plecos. I have grown up on the water spending most of my summers fishing or at the beach.

I got my first reef tank about 10 months ago after lurking on MR and other websites for a while. The tank was a stock BC 29 that I got brand new. It allowed me the opportunity to witness first hand the amount of work and dedication needed to succeed in this hobby at a reasonable cost. I have been reasonably lucky with my first set-up as I have read so many horror stories of tank crashes, yet have never had any with my tank.

I am in need of major help in terms of plumbing, equipment, etc... as I have only had experience with a AIO BC 29. So enough with the monologue, here are some pics.

Before I Put in Water:

b826a4d9.jpg

With Lights On:
239a0d5d.jpg

Moved to the office and put in Rock, Sand, and Salt with RO:

DSCN0252.jpg

Rough Scape (Still Need to Add the Rocks From my BC)

DSCN0253.jpg

Thanks

walnuts24

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
So here is my dilemma. I have a GBTA, pair of clowns, pair of cardinals and a yellow corris wrasse in my current tank. They are all happy. I am a little confused on how to go about transferring everything. As you can see I have about 45 pounds of rock in the tank now and have about 35 pounds of LR in my current setup. Should I just go for the whole transfer and put everything in the new tank and hope I don't get an ammonia spike?

I have been neglecting the other tank for a while and although there is a lot of GHA and other algaes, the residents are happy and healthy. I had waited 8 months before putting the anemone in my tank and I am concerned that if I transfer everything over and I get a spike in nutrients that it may die and take everything with it.