hclaveria

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Hi MR,

This is my first attempt at a tank thread so excuse if I dont follow forum etiquette but please let me know if I need to conform to something. Thanks.

I started this tank in March of 2012 with only a Amiracle wet/dry with bio-balls and an old QuietOne 1200 pump. For bacteria, I used Live Sand and NutraFin Cycle. I only started with about 80 pounds of base coral rock and cycled/cured the rock in the tank.

I let it cycle for about 2 months and put in the first fish in June.

These pictures are from July with the 2nd round of fish (Tomato Clown, LionFish, Yellow Tang and Niger Trigger).

Attachments

• IMG_0045.jpg
    IMG_0045.jpg
    129.6 KB · Views: 320
  • IMG_0121.jpg
    IMG_0121.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 317
  • IMG_0040.jpg
    IMG_0040.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 328
  • IMG_0160.jpg
    IMG_0160.jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 318

hclaveria

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
After a few months, and a stable water parameters, I started to increase the bio-load and the amount of rocks. The rocks I didn't pre-cure. I dipped all of them in acid and cleaned them individually and I also added one piece at a time, mostly on a weekly basis. I did this to control the Ammonia spikes.

I know that the best thing is to cycle the rock outside the tank but I am just too impatient. I am cycling rock outside main tank on the reef tank I am trying to start.

Attachments

• IMG_0162.jpg
    IMG_0162.jpg
    81.5 KB · Views: 314
  • IMG_0173.jpg
    IMG_0173.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 313
  • IMG_0190.jpg
    IMG_0190.jpg
    132.4 KB · Views: 309

hclaveria

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Once I noticed the tank was maturing, I went into the next phase which was to add a Protein Skimmer to control the bio-load. I went with a Aqua Medic Turboflotor Multi. It is overkill but my bio-load is also very high for a 75g.