femmer15

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

This project is something that I have wanted to do for a very long time. I have always been interested in the methodology and hardware used to re-create a living reef ecosystem almost anywhere in the world; the thought alone is truly mind-boggling!

I wanted to show the average person the stages of filtration in the reef aquarium, in an effective and highly aesthetic way. For some reason, I have always been curious about different types of reffugia, and what people put in them. I would always look at tank-setup pics through google and see the beautiful mangrove trees rising out of some live rock- neatly tucked away in the under-cabinets of reefers everywhere. Why not show people the awesome things going on in these remote dungeon tanks? So I decided to build this.

I had a lot of spare time to map this project out, a piece at a time. I was a pro-hockey player, and was recovering from back-surgery (I pity anyone with cyatic-pain). The first thing I did was purchase the 40g breeder so I had something to measure off of. Then I used quarter-inch pink foam (available @HD), and made a scale model of the glass pieces that I needed cut. I now work in the stained glass business with my Father, so getting custom cut quarter-inch tempered-glass pieces was oddly easy to do. The cut glass was about $400.00 and the tank itself was about $75.00. And don't forget 5 tubes of aqu.-safe silicon, $40.00.