ryder11211

Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Starting my first saltwater 90 gallon rimless starphire (36x24x24) tank. Been reading this board, reefcentral and glassbox-design for about 18 months so I'm a newbie, but at this point, a reasonably well-read newbie. I just picked up my tank on sunday in White Plains after ordering it from Glass Cages about a month ago. So, now that I actually have the tank itself, and due to the fact that I will need some input shortly, it's time for a build thread!

Let's start with the basics: What I have and what I need.

What I have:

-90 gallon rimless reef-ready starphire (36x24x24) tank from glasscages. I was a bit nervous making this order as a "glasscages" google brings up some horror stories. I will confirm that customer service is a bit rough around the edges to say the least, but I am very pleased about the tank itself. I was expecting to see some less than perfect silicone work that would need to be repaired, but I don't think I will have to correct anything. I will post pictures of the tank when I get home tonight.
-ATI Bubblemaster 200 protein skimmer. Thanks Johnny (corals mania)
-40 lb shipment of fiji dry rock from Marco Rocks.
-5 stage RO/DI filter w/dual tds meter from bulkreefsupply
-Salifert test kits
-90% of a 200g bucket of Tropic Marine salt
-Koralia 3

What I want/need to get (please comment or make suggestions):

- A stand (neighbor is helping me, will copy basic Elos stand)
- 6 bulb ATI powermodule or perhaps try to build my own LED unit.
- ATO unit (not sure which)
- Sump (already contacted Custom King)
- Heaters (200 watt ebo jager?)
- Return pump (eheim 1250?)
- Media bags/reactors (want to run carbon, maybe phosban)
- Sand ("Reef grade sea flor")
- Refractormeter (any brand suggestions? they seem pretty similar)
- Plumbing supplies
- Vortech MP40